Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 3 Jan 2002, 20:09 (Ref:193422)   #1
honest ron
Rookie

honest ron should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
rookie question

ok,....all your informative posts embarrass me whilst i write this,..... cause im a rookie with no experiance but a thousand creative ideas roll thru my head every day !

anyhow,...... i was wondering why my engine has a higher top level of speed when its cold out ! its only a 125 engine 2 stroke.
i can get so much more out of it when its freezing out !

also,.... in garages, is there any point in buying the higher octane fuel if you have a low performance engine ,....?
i heard that its only for high compression engines ! true or false ?
Old 4 Jan 2002, 03:46 (Ref:193626)   #2
DAVID PATERSON
Veteran

Australia
Brisbane, Qld, Australia
DAVID PATERSON should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridDAVID PATERSON should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridDAVID PATERSON should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Engines burn a mixture of fuel and air, cold air is considerably more sdense than warm air and thus, when it's cold you feeding more into the engine enablingit to make more power. At a drag race meeting you will see the cars will run faster times late at night than they do in the afternoon for this very reason.

Increasing the compression of an engine will increase the likelihood of pre-ignition (pinging). Higher octane fuels are more resistant to pinging and are thus required for high compression engines. I do not believe that using high octane fuel will have any significant benefit for low compression engines.
Old 4 Jan 2002, 04:33 (Ref:193638)   #3
enzo
Racer

enzo should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid