Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Saloon & Sportscar Racing > Sportscar & GT Racing

Old 20 Jul 2005, 10:22 (Ref:1359162)   #1
BSchneiderFan
Veteran

United Kingdom
London, UK
BSchneiderFan is going for a new lap record!BSchneiderFan is going for a new lap record!BSchneiderFan is going for a new lap record!BSchneiderFan is going for a new lap record!BSchneiderFan is going for a new lap record!BSchneiderFan is going for a new lap record!
Hypothetical question

I'm not a technical expert, so can someone answer this for me: would it be theoretically possible to take an old F1 engine (what, 900 bhp?), slap a couple of turbochargers on it and put it in the back of an LMP1 car? I know it wouldn't last an endurance race, but, by God, you'd be on pole at Le Mans with 1,000 bhp+, surely!
Old 20 Jul 2005, 10:34 (Ref:1359171)   #2
jna
Racer

jna should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Would it last one lap?
Old 20 Jul 2005, 10:46 (Ref:1359176)   #3
panoz.lmp1
Veteran

Germany
Germany
panoz.lmp1 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Will the engine produce 900hp with all the restricotors and the boost specified in the LMP regulations?

The engine size is ok, but i´m not sure whether all the materials that are allowed in F1 are allowed in real racecars. The F1 cars are runningf without restrictors?
Old 20 Jul 2005, 10:46 (Ref:1359177)   #4
Dani Filth
Veteran

Romania
Bucharest
Dani Filth should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridDani Filth should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridDani Filth should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
one lap .. maybe but not more ..
AFAIK , no restrictors

Ciao Marco
Old 20 Jul 2005, 10:48 (Ref:1359179)   #5
Truckosaurus
Veteran

England
North Hampshire