Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Road Car Forums > Road Car Forum

Old 11 Jan 2003, 10:39 (Ref:471020)   #1
mtpanorama
Veteran

Australia
Bathurst (best racetrack in the world)
mtpanorama should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
My first "Accident"

It had to happen, i was finally involved in my first "accident" today. I have been driving for nearly 15 years and have had a few near misses, but it finally went crunch today.
Now it wasnt my fault and a lot of you will find in very amusing when i tell you where it happened. It was in the Dipper on Mt Panorama. I was filling in a bit of time and decided to take Natalie for a little drive around the track. I was doing the speed limit and having a nice drive. Came down thru the dipper at about 5okm/h and as i started to take the left hander a white Vl dunnydoor come at me on my side of the road at at least 80km/h or more. I had a quick move to the left (after looking the passenger straight in the face, boy was she scarred) and he managed to move left a bit, but caught the front right of my car with his drivers door. The impact sent his sideways across the road and into a tyre barrier they use for the hill climbs.

The airbag went off in my car, and i have the imprint of the stitching in my arm from it. It will need a new front bar, radiator, guard, bonet, and the front wheel is back about 6 inches and pointing out at 90 degrees to the car. I will go and have a better look on Monday.

Now this is the best bit. The ******** had only had his licence for three days, had three of his mates in the car and the copper only fines him for crossing onto the incorect side of the road. So he will not even loose his licence. And they wonder why there are so many idiots on the road.

Thankfully myself or my daughter were not hurt, and none of the others were either.

I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good, either
Old 11 Jan 2003, 11:11 (Ref:471033)   #2
Morris 1100
Veteran