Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: FlagMarshal.com MarshalsGuide.com Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Marshals Forum

Old 17 Aug 2009, 06:29 (Ref:2522766)   #1
robbo75
Rookie

robbo75 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Why the angst between bike marshals and car marshals?

Morning peeps,

I've been marshaling for a few years, but am taking part in my first bike event at combe this coming saturday.

Which brings me to ask why there appears to be tension between bike marshals and car marshals?

Any opinions please?

Cheers
Old 17 Aug 2009, 07:41 (Ref:2522785)   #2
stroller
Racer

stroller should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Never really come across any real animosity between the two sets of Marshals.
I know a lot of people do both disciplines, but I think a lot of the perceived problems are that those who only do one or the other are probably unsure of what the duties are and how they are carried out.
Did the Plum Pudding meeting a few years back (mixture of Cars & Bikes) and the main problem then seemed to be that the Bike Marshals seemed very reluctant to get involved with dealing with anything with 4 wheels. Don’t know if the problem was that they were unsure as to what to do, or the thinking “it’s cars – leave it to the others!”

Can’t say it’s a mutual distrust – just perhaps lack of “crossover” of information.
Old 17 Aug 2009, 08:23 (Ref:2522804)   #3
BeeJ
Racer

England
Coventry UK
BeeJ should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid