Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 25 Mar 2009, 01:15 (Ref:2424097)   #1
david-
Rookie

david- should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Bending rear axle for negative camber

hello I've been watching this forum alittle while but didn't register before now
I'm from Norway and building myself a corolla RWD special saloon type racecar, very low weight and handling is my big priority, engine power isn't that important 1600ccm with approx 230bhp

however I understand bending a rear axle to get negative camber might be useful especially when using slicks, how much should I go for? 1-1.5degree?
I did find these pictures on the web

you can see they cut the axle, bend it correct way and weld it together, is this the best idea?

I need to know, if I use a straight edge like they used for alignment, how to calculate mm into degree's? I'm no math expert so I need help!!

is toe-in something I would want? or should I just keep it at zero?
wheelbase is 2400mm

I was also thinking of lowering the panhard rod bracket on the axle itself to get it level at ride height, the car is approx 20cm lower than stock so some modifications has to be done so the geometry will be correct again

I've also been searching for the mumford linkage the last few days, is there any kits or bits for sale anywhere? or do you have to construct everything yourself?

Thanks for any help!
Old 25 Mar 2009, 07:12 (Ref:2424204)   #2
Jeff 8
Racer

Australia
Sydney, Australia
Jeff 8 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Wouldn't you need a CV joint to prevent the axle rubbing inside the housing and extremely short bearing life?

I think V8 Supercars run something like this or at least they used to but I think they had a CV.

Jeff

Old 25 Mar 2009, 08:36 (Ref:2424251)   #3
JamesH
Veteran

United Kingdom
Christchurch, Cambs, UK